It is that time of the year again

It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon and I was hiking up the Berkshire Mountains in Western Massachusetts. The weather was perfect with the sun shining down on me and not a cloud in the sky. There is a slight breeze going through my hair and the smell of pine is in the air. It is the end of September which means fall foliage is almost at its peak and all the vibrant red, yellows, and orange leaves are  shown all around the mountains. While on the Berkshire Mountains, I was thinking of why some leaves turn yellow while others turn the color red?

I was that person on the mountain who took out his phone to look it up. Yes I did had reception for some crazy reason. I learned that those colors depend on certain weather occurrences. For leaves to turn red and purple colors, the leaves rely on the temperatures and the amount of precipitation that falls. Yellow and orange color leaves depend on the daylight decreasing. The more vibrant colors occur when there is relatively cooler weather and dry weather.

The foliage is one of the reasons why I love Fall. It makes driving around the highway so beautiful. I also love the relatively colder weather, apple cider, and that Halloween is right around the corner. I am not a big fan of the pumpkin lattes at Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts probably because I work at Dunkins for three years.

On the way down from the mountain I realized that it is crazy that some places in the south are missing out on seeing the beautiful fall foliage. That being said the leaves eventually fall off the trees which makes the scenery very bare and depressing. So take this time now right now to treasure the leaves because in a month or so those leaves will be all over your backyard. What is your favorite and least favorite part of fall?

fall-foliage-berkshires           berkshires_fall_foliage

Leave a Reply

